Bold Colorful Life Estate
 Home   FAQs-About the Estate   Rental Rooms/Rates    Amenities   Reservations   
Destination Weddings & Events  
  Attractions    Guests   Reviews
 

 

Bold Colorful Life Estate - Guest Reviews

2017

Great for a Family Gathering, Awesome Owner!

August 31- September 5, 2017 Farmhouse rental

The farmhouse is such a wonderful retreat!! Everything in the online description was to a T accurate. Melissa gave us a much appreciated orientation/walk through too, she is a gracious and considerate hostess. We are so glad we chose this place it had everything we needed to make our stay memorable. The surrounding grounds had so many awesome quiet places to retreat and the young adults with us not only utilized those but loved the second floor lounge space. All our visiting relatives not only were 'awed' by her creativeness, but commented they would like to return for a family gathering in the future, so bravo to Melissa! She even sent a few emails highlighting some daily activities going on in the local area. We will be forever grateful for the attention we received that made our stay so pleasant.

Laura C, Albertville, Alabama

We had a great time at the Cape house!

September 1-5, 2017 Cape Rental

Hi Melissa,

We had a great time here at the Cape house! It's really a lovely place and it was just the right size for us. We were very comfortable throughout our stay.
The lobster roll at Robinson's Wharf was fantastic, thanks for the recommendation! If we ever get back to Maine, we hope we can stay here again.

Sincerely, Rick and Vicky A, Berea, Ohio


 

Elegant Boothbay Waterfront Estate

August 21-26, 2017 Farmhouse Rental

This was a perfect spot for our family reunion: Great location - off the beaten path but is close to civilization. Lovely house - feels like a real "home". Nice layout - a bathroom for each bedroom, large dining area and multiple spaces for hanging out: 2 porches, den, loft, great room. Accommodating and enthusiastic hostess.

Linda C, Brooklyn, New York

Charming Waterfront 5 Bedroom Cape

August 19-26, 2017 Cape Rental

Melissa was incredibly helpful. She met us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the house, the grounds and also an overview of things to do and places to eat in the Boothbay area. The house was perfect for our family - everyone had their own bedroom and we could spend time together on the deck or in the kitchen/dining room. The location is great for exploring the Boothbay area. We loved our week in Maine!
Melissa - thanks for all your tips and suggestions for things to do. It was really helpful since we had never been to that area before. We especially loved the hike at La Verna and never would have found that on our own.

Reid W, Evanston, Illinois


 

Family Reunion at The Farmhouse and The Cape

July 22-29, 2017 Farmhouse and Cape Rental

To Melissa: Thank you so much for all your kind words and for your thoughtfulness while we were in Maine.

My mother passed away last June, When we were kids, we had a cottage in Damariscotta and spent much of our summers there. Picnics at Pemaquid Point were among Mom’s favorite times. To commemorate her life, we decided to have a whole family reunion a year after her passing. We rented both the Farmhouse and the Cape to accommodate the large group.

The week turned out even better than I had hoped… in no small part because of the wonderful and comfortable accommodations provided. The place is lovely. It’s clearly something that you should be very proud of: fully equipped, completely stocked, well maintained, clean and spacious. And the attention to detail is amazing. It was a joy and a surprise that even after 7 days, we’d walk into a room and see some other interesting/lovely/curious (and of course, color coordinated) item that we hadn’t noticed before!

I am glad to know that my rather large crew was not an imposition or disruptive. The children are generally well behaved but with that many kids and that young, you never know!!! Their good behavior was a result of how happy they were. The spacious lawn with a range of paths weaving through the tall grass kept them running around for hours. The prospect of making ice cream one night and having s’mores at the fire pit another night also may have encouraged good behavior.

I am ever so thankful to have found such a lovely and comfy place for my family to be together and to build more happy memories as we celebrated my mom’s life.

Pat A, Hinsdale, Illinois

Georgia Dawgs....

July 15-22, 2017 Farmhouse rental

The house was brightly colored and inviting from the moment we stepped inside. There were plenty of supplies throughout the beautiful home, and Melissa had thought of everything we might need during our stay. When we had questions or needs came up, Melissa was available immediately to do whatever was necessary to make it happen. The grounds are beautifully manicured and there is plenty of yard space for children to run and play. We especially enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch and the ones on the back deck.

David G, Fayetteville, Georgia

Warm, inviting, comfortable, quiet...

July 15-22, 2017 Cape rental

My extended family stayed here for a week in July. Everyone loved the home, the area, and Melissa. The house has all of the needed amenities, plus oodles of charm. Melissa is gracious and very responsive to any needs or requests. She is there when you need her and appropriately out-of-sight otherwise, kind of like a fairy godmother! If you want a relaxed but interesting place to visit, this is definitely it.

Molly R, South Portland, Maine

Beautifully maintained historic house....

July 6-10, 2017  Cape rental

A beautifully maintained historic house on magnificent property located on the Back River. Lots of activities indoor and outdoor -- perfect for nature lovers, bird watchers, and those who like to explore. We loved our stay at the house, and wished we could have spent more time there. A great spot for a family reunion. Lots of space and privacy. Melissa is a wonderful hostess, knowledgeable, very flexible and generous.

Shelley K, Wadsworth, Illinois

Wonderful. Off the beaten path

June 26- July 1, 2017 Farmhouse rental

Off the beaten path but close to everything in Booth Bay. Great for a large group. Melissa greeted us and answered all of our questions. The house had everything we needed. We would stay there again!

Beth D, Ashville, Ohio

Wonderful off the beaten path retreat

June 25-30, 2017  Cape rental

There isn't much to say other than it was just a wonderful getaway. Melissa was an informative and gracious host. The grounds are gorgeous. The cape house is quaint with old house charm. If you like old houses in the woods with water access, this house is for you. Would totally return for another trip.

Will S, Austin, Texas

Excellent...Perfect

June 1-5, 2017  Farmhouse and Cape rental

This was an ideal spot for a golf weekend. Large table and efficient kitchen and large deck made a terrific setting for entertaining. The property is close to town, quiet and picturesque.

This Cape was rented along with the Farmhouse and was a welcomed addition to the space we needed. Both houses are well maintained and clean. It has a lot of character to go along with it's Maine charm.

Mike B, Ridgefield, CT

Big, Spacious. Perfect!

May 26-29, 2017  Farmhouse rental

This is a fantastic spot! Between the Farmhouse and the grounds, a lot of space to unwind and relax and enjoy Boothbay. We had a group of 8, split evenly among adults and kids. The kids had plenty of choices for where to play inside and do their thing, and that didn't compete with what the adults wanted to do. The Library/Study on the main floor is an especially cool space.

Love the large Kitchen and Dining Room. Easily handled the 8 of us when making meals and fixing snacks & cocktails.

The outside and backyard was really nice. Lots to explore. The kids loved the various hammocks! We made good use of both the kayaks and the outside games/toys (wife ball, etc.). So many options; easy to keep the day rolling without anyone saying they are bored!

Nice view of the tidal river from both inside the house and from the back deck. Just the right amount of water view to help you appreciate the area and set the right atmosphere.

Very convenient location. It's just 15 minutes to downtown Boothbay Harbor and the all the restaurants and shopping. You don't have to over-plan the day in order to get into town.

We really enjoyed our stay and Melissa was more than accommodating. Not that we needed anything but she was available if we needed her.

I'd definitely go back!
Brian K, Westford, Massachusetts

Delightful Maine Getaway. Location, Charm, Beauty

May 26-30, 2017 Cape Rental

What a wonderful stay at this antique Cape on the 15 acre waterfront estate! It was lovely to leave the hustle-bustle of Connecticut far behind and reach midcoast Maine and this lovely site. The quiet, the sunshine and breezes, the birdsong and the far off train whistle were all relaxing components of a great getaway.

I’ve been re-imagining ​coffee and conversation on the deck, looking out over the grounds to the river, ​walking through the beautiful Coastal Maine Botanical gardens, and hiking to Thomas Cove on the Bonyun preserve trail.​..

I'm remembering exploring the Boothbay peninsula and Southport island...​

What glorious beauty ... the sights, the sounds, the smells … a total sensory surround. 

I think I'll make this an annual getaway!

Room Tip: While the Farmhouse is beautiful, the cottage is truly charming. Offers privacy for families and groups.

Connie O, Redding, CT

Well appointed, colorful, Maine get-away

May 18-22, 2017  Farmhouse rental

The Bold Colorful Life Estate is the place to go for an experience that is many parts: welcoming, comfortable, beautiful, convenient, and well managed. From the huge well appointed farmhouse eat-in kitchen to the sweeping views to the river to the appropriate and eye pleasing interior design and decoration to the multiplicity of color coordinated bedrooms each with its own bath and fantastic bed, the farmhouse is a great place to rent for a reunion for friends, college classmates, sports enthusiasts, and art appreciators alike. Melissa hosted us with warmth, clear directions, and rapid and calm responses to our needs. You need to visit this lovely place and all the great parts of this section of Maine like the Coastal Maine Botanical Garden and Moody's Diner, to which Melissa will provide guidance and many more ideas on how to occupy your time there. Go there as soon as you can.

Leslie B, Albuquerque, New Mexico/Oakton, Virginia

Perfect Reunion Getaway

May 18-22, 2017  Farmhouse rental

This is the perfect spot for a high school or college reunion getaway. Each guest has a private room and bath - so 6 adults can sleep separately without disturbing others. The large kitchen makes communal meal preparation easy and enjoyable, the dining room has a huge table made from a barn door for playing games and sitting around chatting, and the living room has a piano for singing and carousing. The views overlooking Back River are spectacular with 15 acres to explore, and kayaks are available to paddle around and see an eagle's nest and other wildlife. There are lots of great restaurants in Boothbay Harbor and neighboring towns within easy driving distance - including a brew pub and an old diner with homemade fruit and Whoopie pies. The atmosphere is a throw back to earlier times with lighthouses to climb and hiking paths to explore - a respite from modern civilization. Melissa is a fantastic host whose owner's quarters are adjacent to the property, so she is readily available to provide suggestions that are always spot on.

Joyce W, Chicago, Illinois

2016

Guest Pictures

A wonderful time, enjoyed every minute  

December 15, 2016  Farmhouse rental

Melissa couldn't have been a better host, her warmth, wit and respect for our needs were all that we wished for. She is such an interesting person, passionate about her artfully restored farmhouse. She shared her love of the area and gave us a lot of good suggestions. Breakfast the next morning was delicious.

Leslee B

August 20, 2016  Farmhouse rental

We had a wonderful stay at Melissa's estate, called Bold Colorful Life. The house is set high on a hill facing beautiful Maine waterfront (riverfront), with long sloping lawns down to the river. The setting was so beautiful and the house so comfortable that we had little incentive to leave the place for excursions. We enjoyed sitting on the wide decks reading, eating lobster, and watching the tide go in and out. Our grandchildren loved exploring the grounds, including the kayaking, the frog pond, playing hoops on the lawn, and making s'mores at the fire pit. This was a great house for a three-generation family vacation. Everything was exactly as described. Melissa was easy to communicate with, very responsive to our requests, and made us all feel very welcome. She was present on the grounds but never in our way, just available by text if we needed anything. A great host, and a terrific place for a Maine waterfront vacation.

Aline S., Amherst, MA

August 18, 2016  Cape rental

We had a spectacular time at the Waterfront Cape. The house has everything one would need and a short drive into the Harbor. We spent all of our time outdoors grilling on the deck, kayaking, exploring the grounds/waterfront and enjoying the campfire. Melissa was an excellent host. She was easily accessible and accommodating during our stay and gave us the inside scoop on the surrounding area . I definitely look forward to my next trip to Boothbay as the town has so much to offer.

Timothy D., New York, New York

The Farmhouse is Fabulous

August 6, 2016  Farmhouse rental

We had 3 couples and a fifth wheel (me) at the Farmhouse and the place was fabulous. Bedrooms and bathrooms for each, with one to spare. All designed in bright and bold colors and two with river views. The kitchen and dining area were perfect for a big group, for cooking and eating and entertaining. Plenty of room to spread out and find personal space, both in the Farmhouse and on the property itself. I was initially concerned that it might be a little removed from Boothbay Village, but found that the drive wasn't too far, and some of the guests biked to the Village and beyond. It was truly a special place and our hostess, Melissa, was thorough in offering advice and recommendations about the area(even before our visit) and and invisible for most of our time there, unless we had specific questions. At which point she was available and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend the Farmhouse for the facility and its amenities, as well as for the reasonable price and the gracious hostess. 

Tom Y., North Andover, MA

July 28, 2016 Cape rental

What a fantastic place to stay. This house built in the 1800's is phenomenal. Quaint historical house with a property that allows you to explore and feel like you are in your own home. Would stay many times over. The house has lots of personality and can work for all types of families. Our kids ranged from 13 to 23 and all had lots to do and relax with nature while exploring the beautiful surrounding towns. Thx Melissa for being such a great hostess.

Linda S., Ladera Ranch, CAL

Perfect Memory Maker

July 23, 2016 Farmhouse rental

The Bold Colorful Life Estate is the perfect location for family gatherings and making memories! Celebrating our parents 50th wedding anniversary, 15 family members spent a relaxing fun filled week surrounded by beauty and the joyful energy created by Melissa Thornton. The house is brilliantly decorated, comfortable and well maintained. Melissa was organized, thorough and willing to help make each and every person comfortable and happy. Every question or need we had was attended to quickly, accommodating all of our wishes to make our parent's special occasion one to remember. She truly places her guests as her first priority. We highly recommend Melissa and her home for your next family celebration!

Jennifer A., Morrisville, VT

July 6, 2016 Cape rental

Absolutely wonderful stay in the Cape! Beautiful and peaceful setting with so much to do right on the property. My family thoroughly enjoyed our visit! The house was clean and comfortable and so charming. It felt like home. I highly recommend!

Amy W., Hamlet, OH

Wonderful and relaxing stay

July 1, 2016 Farmhouse rental

Melissa was incredibly welcoming. She took the time to get us settled and give us a tour of the grounds. We had a wonderful time at her place and were blown away by the beauty of both the grounds and the house itself. The bedrooms were well-appointed and the kitchen and dining area were perfect for a large group.

Bruce K., Roswell, GA

June 23, 2016 Cape rental

Our family of 6 stayed in the 5 Bedroom restored Cape. We had plenty of room to stretch out and relax. The lovingly restored rooms had a great mix of old world charm and modern amenities. The beautiful fifteen acre property is situated on the Back River and has flower gardens, vegetable gardens, a stone fire pit, wild turkeys, (friendly) foxes, and if you're lucky to spot them, bald eagles. But our favorite feature of the property was its owner, Melissa. She was such a wonderful host, friendly, caring, and attentive but not at all intrusive. She gave us the inside scoop on the area, what to do and where to go based on our interests. This made our first stay in Boothbay perfect. We will definitely be back.

Brian B., Wading River, NY

June 18, 2016 Farmhouse rental

Beautiful house in a secluded setting. Melissa was very friendly and accessible if we needed her, but invisible otherwise. The property was well maintained, welcoming, and clean. The town of Boothbay Harbor was close by with plenty to do and eat. I would recommend this property to others.

Diana B., Frisco, TX

June 6, 2016 Farmhouse rental

This is a great place for a group of 10. Each room had its own bath which is always appreciated. There is a large kitchen/dining area for everyone to gather, and a library room for quiet book reading. We enjoyed the fire pit (bring a flashlight) one evening for s'mores. The owner has put a lot of work into landscaping and creating a lovely path to get you safely down to the water. We didn't get to kayak, but this would have been a nice, calm place to do so especially if you're not an expert at kayaking. I personally like the quietness of the home away from the town. Our room was cozy and quiet, as well. As far as the 'rules' some have complained about, I would much prefer the book Melissa provides with the rules to having to call her every 5 minutes with questions. She has worked hard on this home and wants to keep it nice for the next travelers. The only downside for me was having to wash the linens. If you're in a hurry to leave on departure day you'll want to keep this in mind or arrange to pay the extra to have it done. Not a big deal, but just be prepared.
 

Chris A, Wichita, KS

Memorial Day Weekend, 2016 Farmhouse rental

WOW!!! Our group has been getting together yearly on Memorial Day Weekend since our children were small and we used to go tent camping together - that's about twenty-four years ago. Our kids are all grown and gone but we still like to get together for the holiday weekend. Since we are all getting a bit older we prefer a bit more comfort than a sleeping bag on the ground in a tent, dry pit toilets and no showers. In the past few years we have picked a location and then find a home to rent together. This home was the best we have stayed at yet!!! The home is lovely, spacious, clean and in a lovely setting. The host Melissa T. could not have been more accommodating to our needs while we were there. We even forgot a pair of boots and didn't realize until we got home. She graciously packed them up and sent them back to us! My favorite piece of furniture in the home is the huge barn door dining room table! Great for gathering around for meals or games! My favorite room to relax in was the great room with a beautiful view, a wall of books and a baby grand piano. If you are in the Boothbay Harbor area for a vacation or extended stay this is the place you want to be.

Bonnie D, Hudson, NH

December 30, 2015 to January 3, 2016 Farmhouse rental

Thanks so much for a lovely stay in your beautiful home, Melissa! We all had a wonderful time and would love to come back:) 

Thank you for the lovely pictures and for being such a wonderful host to our New Year's getaway, it was just a beautiful landscape to ring in the New Year!!

Fondly, Viola P, Brockton, MA

2015

October 9, 2015 Cape

This has been my 2nd trip to BoldColorLife Inn and each time I feel like I am transported to a safe haven. We stayed at the Cape in the Butterscotch Amber suite. We had our own bathroom with a wonderful tub or shower. The coziness of the Cape is such a warm, relaxing feeling that you immediately feel less stressed. The morning breakfast in the dining area is a treat and just starts the day off right for whatever adventures await. You can't miss a trip to Boldcolorlife Inn and once you're experienced it you will only want more!

Joyce G., Trumbull, CT

September 4, 2015 Farmhouse rental

Our group of 14 (6 adults and 8 children) enjoyed every minute of our Labor Day weekend at this bold and colorful estate! The farmhouse is unique, and bright and very well appointed. Just about everything one would need on a vacation is provided. (Other than a whisk!) I will admit to being a bit surprised that Melissa's home was attached to the main farmhouse, but found this to be of no issue while we were there. We are a fairly loud group (with 14 how can you not be) and I was most concerned that we'd disturb her. But she explained that though attached, there is quite a bit of hallway space between her living space and ours. And I she didn't complain about our noise, so... We found that there was plenty to do both on property and off. The kids rode their bikes all around this beautiful property, walked out into the riverbed at low tide, checked out the frogs and snakes in the pond, found a porcupine friend in the evening. All while the adults enjoyed cocktails on the deck with the amazing view, walked the paths, lounged in the hammocks and rode our bikes as well. I should also speak to Melissa's introduction to the property. The property, inside and out, is huge so we truly appreciated her tour to familiarize ourselves with the home and it's surroundings. Also, Melissa helped us navigate Boothbay. The best beaches, the best restaurants, what not to miss, etc.. We found this very helpful and did end up (per her recommendations) at Hendricks Head Beach, with a stop into Robinson's Wharf for some fresh lobsters, and McSeagull's for lunch on another excursion. She didn't lead us astray! We were quite happy with all our outings! Melissa also was kind enough to answer some questions we had about biking in the area. We found her to be very helpful, and very kind! Even taking our group photo at the end of our stay! This property is truly unique and so beautiful! We really didn't want to leave. I would absolutely recommend this property to both large groups and to those looking for a romantic getaway! Thanks again, Melissa!

Malaika S., New London, NH

 

August 24, 2015 Cape rental

We had our first extended family vacation this month and the rental provided us an opportunity to spend it together in one house. Melissa was an excellent hostess and provided us with plenty of information on things to do and places to see. The location was a perfect mix of quiet and access to town. The fire pit in the evenings during the meteor shower was the icing on the cake. I strongly recommend looking at this rental for a group vacation. The price was very reasonable as well. Thanks Melissa.

John M., Seymour, CT

 

August 20, 2015 Farmhouse and Cape rentals

Our group of 16 rented out both the Cape and the Farmhouse for a family wedding being held nearby. 8 adults, 8 children in all. What a treat to all be in close proximity to each other yet have space to spread out. The property is absolutely beautiful with a leisurely walk to the water frontage where we kayaked and bird-watched. Benches & picnic tables were thoughtfully placed throughout the paths, and the children loved looking at the Maine Painted Turtles and frogs in the freshwater pond. We even saw a porcupine under the apple tree late at night! The Cape house dates from the 1800's and has been lovingly restored. It does maintain quite alot of character yet is comfortable and safe. The kitchen is plentifully stocked, and we wished we could have stayed a week to take advantage of all the cookware, etc. Each bedroom has a delightful theme, and the children enjoyed having their own little nooks for exploring and sleeping. Other reviews mention the policies and introductory tour . . . making us a bit wary. But the owner was very kind and engaging. The tour helped us to take advantage of the amenities both on the property and in Boothbay. And quite frankly, if I had a property this beautiful and historic, I would want to make sure it stayed that way too. For the remainder of our visit, we felt like we had the property to ourselves, but the owner was available by cell or email for questions -- perfect for us. We would definitely return to this property again, perhaps renting the Farmhouse next time for a change of scenery. Thank you, M, for sharing your beautiful piece of Maine with our family.

Jen P., York, PA

 

July 25, 2015 Farmhouse rental

How fortunate we were to find Bold Colorful Life website after searching for hours to locate a suitable cottage on Midcoast Maine, large enough to accommodate our family. We were certain from viewing the photos of the farmhouse, with the striking colors in each room, and the accompanying grounds that this was the place to be. Our communications with Melissa reinforced our initial feelings. After spending a week’s vacation at the farmhouse, we knew we had made the best choice ever. Nine adults made up our family, with 5 grandchildren ages 8 and under. Each of the five beautifully decorated bedrooms, in a bold color representing various healing gems, had its own private bathroom. Our daughters especially enjoyed the amethyst room with its spectacular view of sunsets over the Back River. Meals were a pleasure to prepare and share in the spacious kitchen and dining area. The barn door table was unique and very functional. The children could play close by on the back deck and adjacent lawn. The landscape is amazing with its numerous pathways – dotted by benches and hammocks, allowing us to enjoy the calming sounds of nature. At one point during the week friends visited from Cushing and we had the most enjoyable walk to the river’s edge, talking, taking pictures and just communicating with nature. Melissa was the high point of our stay – so vivacious, hospitable, and more than helpful with recommendations on everything – from food, where to go, things to do, especially with young children- we never felt like we were imposing with inquiries. She made a point of being available if we wished but was very conscious of our privacy. In other words, we could not have asked for a more gracious hostess. In summary, this was a most memorable weeks’ vacation with family in Boothbay. We would love to return to Bold Colorful Life.

Jane T, Greenville, PA
 

July 6, 2015 Farmhouse rental

"beautiful estate!"

Wonderful estate to relax and enjoy the beautiful surrounding. Quick drive to lovely town of Boothbay. Enjoy talking with the estate owner who is fully knowledgeable on wonderful restaurants, hikes, aquariums. Botanical gardens. Just ask! No question, the best place to vacation.

Diane D., Delanson, NY
 

July 6, 2015 Cape rental
"I couldn't have asked for a better experience!"

We take an annual family vacation back to N.E. to see my family. This year I wanted to spend time on the coast of Maine and spent quite some time looking for a place that was suitable for my immediate family, my dad, brother, sister-in-law and nieces. In my wildest dreams I couldn't have found a better spot.

The Cape was beautiful. The property was breath taking. And Melissa, our hostess, was welcoming and awesome. She gave us an overview of the area, as well as recommendations of where to take family hikes, eat lobster rolls and get the best ice cream in town!

The property was peaceful, impeccably maintained and well thought out. And my kids were thrilled with the fire-pit, as they got smores every nights!

I highly recommend this beautiful estate.

Jessica W, Arizona
 

June 22, 2015 Cape rental
The Very Best

Five friends and I recently spent the most glorious vacation in this loving, comforting and delightful home. And Home it is. After a breath-taking tour around our new home, we gathered in the cozy living room and said, "Let's never leave here. Let's stay forever!" While this wonderful home is called the "Waterfront Cape," to us, it is the "Forever Cape." Every room is magnificent. Every room has the character that you wish was in your own home. Everything was totally clean, comfortable and in excellent repair and the property will make your spirits soar. It is a place that will transform and refresh you. If it is a break from your overly-busy daily world that you need, this wonderful home-away-from-home is the place for you.

Andy C, Southport, ME
 

June 20, 2015 Farmhouse rental

“Bold Colorful Life is a wonderful place for a family celebratory vacation”

We recently spent a week at Bold Colorful Life with the extended family in celebration of our parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the farmhouse and it was a wonderful experience. Melissa is very personable and very well organized. The house is immaculate and the property is absolutely beautiful. Initially we had some concerns about all being in the same house as we were vacationing with extended family and we weren’t sure if we would feel “on top of each other” under the same roof. It worked out much better than we had expected. Each room had its own private bath and we were able to convert a couple of other rooms including the loft area in the great room for extra sleeping spaces as we had more two more people than normal for this particular rental. The space worked out perfectly. The first couple of days rained so we could not spend as much time outside as we had wanted. That said the covered farmer’s porch in the front and the covered back porch area allowed us to be outside without getting soaked by the rain. We also found that the Great Room and the Kitchen area were spacious enough that we did not feel closed in. The kitchen is amazing and we were thrilled at the fact that we could all sit together at the same table each night for dinner (and still have extra room at the table). The property is wonderful for nature walks, and just reading/sleeping in one of the various hammocks provided. We also were able to bring our lunch out to one of the picnic tables for a picnic. Furthermore there are many benches along the river walk and the pond to just sit and enjoy the birds, water views and gorgeous sunsets. We were able to go kayaking off the property though it was a little challenging getting in and out with the kayaks but it was worth it. The tidal river is beautiful and easy to maneuver during high tide. During our stay all of our questions for Melissa were answered in an appropriate time frame and a couple of glitches were quickly remedied by her. A few people in our group were concerned at the onset about “sharing” the property with people staying in the cottage. However we found that even with the cottage being occupied during our stay and Melissa living there, the property is large enough to accommodate privacy for everyone. Finally, the property is only a short drive from the downtown area and grocery store. It was very easy to go into Boothbay Harbor for errands or to spend some time. Overall we all had a wonderful time at Bold Colorful Life and would consider going back.

Michelle V., Bow, NH

 

May 28, 2015 Farmhouse rental
Loved our stay at the Farm House

We booked the house to celebrate our daughter's graduation and it was a great choice. The property is beautiful, clean and well maintained, with plenty of room for the family and friends. The house has everything you need and more. It was a wonderful get away from our daily routine. We enjoyed hiking, the botanical gardens, sightseeing, a boat cruise and good restaurants and all close by. Melissa the property owner was very helpful and available when needed. We would love to do this again!

Ana E, Matawan, NJ

 

May 18, 2015 Farmhouse and Cape
Charming, Nurturing, Life-Enhancing Accommodation

I have not stayed over night here but have attended many functions here. The decor and ambiance, inside and out, always leaves me looking forward to the next event in this lovely location.

Diane S, Boothbay, ME

March 20, 2015 Farmhouse and Cape rental
Perfect in Every Way

We loved our visit. We were in town for our daughter's wedding, and needed a house that slept 10 people. This met our need in every way. The beds were comfortable and there is enough space that we did not bump into each other. The home is in gorgeous shape, and Melissa was available when we needed her for any questions. She was most gracious and always helpful. Since there was still snow on the ground we did not explore outside, but the views from the house were gorgeous. It was an A+ for customer service. I would definitely recommend the property.

Sanford W, Grafton, ILL

 

2014

September 6, 2014 Farmhouse and Cape rental
Great Place

We spent a week here in September '13 and in September '14. Both stays were fantastic! Beautiful place. I want to go back!
Rich, South Carolina

 

September 1, 2014 Farmhouse rental
Beautiful Retreat

Melissa, As you remember, seven of my family had a magnificent week in the Farmhouse four years ago. It was perfect for us, whether we wanted to spread out and find cozy nooks, or all be together in that beautiful (perfectly equipped!) kitchen or out on the deck with that long view over the meadow and down to the river. Some of us ambled down the path and sat above the water, under the pines. We loved it! This year, after an exhausting, tough time at work, the one place in the world I wanted to be was Bold Colorful Life. More than anything, I wanted a room in your sweet, classic Cape Cod with the daylilies out front. Though I loved the expanse of the Farmhouse, this time what I really needed was grounding and nurturing, and the Cape was where I wanted to be. Alas, it was rented for the week I had in mind! I still crave time in that charming Cape and I’ll have it one of these years! But you did a wonderful, nurturing thing for me, instead. You made space for me in the Farmhouse again. You gave me the same room I had four years ago, supplied the fridge with all manner of breakfast sustenance, and made space for me to heal. In my mind, I can still go back to all the mornings I made my coffee and drank it on the deck, looking out over the wildflowers and granite benches on the path down to the river. You are stewarding a truly beautiful expanse of land. And from Bold Colorful Life, I made many great forays! You’re so close to the Coastal Botanic Garden, which is a gorgeous place to ramble, with a delightful outdoor restaurant and really good food. At your suggestion, I wandered down to Fort William Henry and Pemaquid Light (climbed it dizzily to the top). On the way, I found excellent fried clams at the exact restaurant where you said they’d be. Melissa, the week was exactly what I needed. Thank you. Thank you for all the work you’ve done to find and make this beautiful place what it is, for the peace and well-being of so many people. Till next time, warmest wishes,

Bev P

 

August 29, 2014 Farmhouse rental
Very Clean and Relaxing

We were 5 couples visiting for Labor Day weekend (3 nights) and we all had more than enough room to amble around in this very spacious and homey farm house. Melissa is very gracious and accommodating. I most enjoyed sitting on the large deck in back which has a view of the Back River. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood and is less than a five minute ride to Boothbay Harbor. Thank you Melissa!

Carol C 

August 9, 2014 Farmhouse rental 
Super Vacation Home with all the Right Stuff!

We are a family of 10. Last year we stayed in the Cape House which was lovely. This year we decided to stay in the bigger Farmhouse. It is a fantastic house. Truly a home away from home. My teenage daughter exclaimed "this place is awesome!" Everyone was very comfortable and happy having their own rooms and bathrooms. My 86 year old mother was very happy with her bathroom which was handicap equipped. The kitchen is well equipped and the large barn door kitchen table is a masterpiece! There is plenty of room for everyone and plenty of play space inside and out to keep our two toddlers happy. We also love the location. It is quiet and woodsy with a great view of the water. It is also minutes to downtown Boothbay. Melissa is a pleasure and very accommodating. We have already booked our return trip for next summer. Thanks Melissa from a very happy family!

Marian and Rob H

July 28, 2014 Farmhouse rental 
Tranquility to the max...

If you enjoy being off the beaten path, then here you have arrived.
Gwen R
 

July 19, 2014 Farmhouse rental 

Beautiful large unique farmhouse, private baths

The "farmhouse" is really a modern new spacious clean, well- maintained 3-story 5-colorful-bedroom house with old barn decor (and dining table for about 22 people), 5 private baths, large high-ceilinged communal rooms, on gorgeous very large property with pond and paths on tidal river. Owner is delightful, shares musical instruments and huge library, helps with kayak rental. Our 4 families had wonderful time. Swimming is negligible due to fascinating tidal mud flats, but there is a nearby public beach. Highly recommend!

Mary Ann J

 

June 20, 2014 Cape rental 
A much needed home away from home

 

This property is one of the best kept secrets in Maine. There are two houses which rent out as vacation rentals on this large estate right on the Back River, and the Cape was the home that fit us best. It's a real, historical Cape Cod house, built in the 1800s...the owner even showed us a photograph of the house with a Civil War officer sitting out front! And it's been completely renovated, so all the rooms are comfortable and cozy. The bedrooms are colorful and perky, there were plenty of bathrooms, three TVs with cable and we had easy access to WiFi to check emails...so it was a nice mix of history with modern conveniences. The kitchen is fully equipped. We cooked lobster twice during our stay, and grilled several other nights...and had all the implements we needed. We even spent an evening around the huge firepit making s'mores and telling stories. The front porch was great for breakfast and we looked out at the river, the kids picked wildflowerss in the side yard, enjoyed the hammocks, set up the croquet set and generally relaxed and had a wonderful time. It was hard to leave the Cape to go out and explore the Boothbay peninsula, but that was worth it as well. Lots of adventures to be had in this area. This place is an oasis, away from the stress and strain of modern life...definitely therapeutic. And Melissa helps make everything run smoothly. Thanks!

Morgan M

 

June 12, 2014 Farmhouse rental
Beautiful home, gardens and trails

 

This house was one of the nicer homes we have stayed in on VRBO. It was filled with all of the amenities you could need during a stay. It also is very well decorated including a very large dining room table made from a barn door! The trails and gardens are beautiful and our children loved running around the yard and exploring the woods and river. There are also great things to do in the area. We went zip lining to the aquarium and enjoyed the botanical gardens. We highly recommend this home!

Sarah C

 

January 30, 2014 Farmhouse rental

Quite a place, even in the middle of winter.

5 of us stayed at the Farmhouse and found that it had all the amenities anyone could want for a comfortable stay. The only negative would be my mattress, which I found too soft, but that is just a personal preference. The rooms are well appointed and clean, while the kitchen/dining area is huge. All in all I would recommend the Farmhouse to anyone.

Scott P

 

Guest Pictures

       Contact Us    Rent theWhole Cape   Rent the Whole Farmhouse
 
Directions
    SITE MAP    POLICIES    The Estate in All Seasons    Why Visit Boothbay?B
 
_________________________________________________________________________

Bold Colorful Life Gallery-Art and Jewelry        Bold Colorful Life Retreat Center   Retreat Calendar
Bold Colorful Life Coaching
          Bold Colorful Life Inn....a B&B

802 Back River Road, Boothbay, Maine 04537 | Email: boldcolorlife@gmail.com
 

Website Design and Maintenance: Melissa L. Thornton, MBA, LMFT    Copyright © 2007   Last  Updated: July 24, 2017  G